BROCKTON SCHOOL COMMITTEE

David E. Crosby Administration Building 43 Crescent Street (508) 580-7511

Brockton, MA 02301 Fax: (508) 580-7513

Hon. James E. Harrington Chair

> Richard E. Bath Vice-Chair

Basan Nembirkow Secretary/Superintendent of Schools



Committee Members Richard E. Bath Janice A. Bever James M. Daley Ronald F. Dobrowski Brian C. Foley Patricia A. Joyce Thomas J. Minichiello, Jr.

BROCKTON PUBLIC SCHOOLS SUPERINTENDENT SEARCH UPDATE

Mayor James E. Harrington and the Brockton School Committee are proceeding with the search process for a successor to Superintendent Basan Nembirkow who will retire this summer.

Mayor Harrington appointed Mrs. Patricia A. Joyce, member of the Brockton School Committee, to chair the Screening and Interview Committee; he also appointed the following individuals who applied to serve on the committee:

Ronald F. Dobrowski	School Committee
Thomas J. Minichiello, Jr.	School Committee
Todd Petti	City Council
Eligijus Suziedelis	Central Office Administrator
Darlene M. Campbell	Principal (K-8)
Michael P. Thomas	Secondary Administrator
Frances Pina	Community
Patricia O'Connor	Community
Francis Garcea	Community
Fred Fontaine	Business
Cheryl A. Spillane	Support Staff
Maribel Soto	Parent – Elementary
Linda Logan	Parent – Secondary
Thomas G. Shea, III	Teacher - Elementary
James Jackson	BHS Student
Robert Tocci	BEA Rep

The Screening and Interview Committee met on Saturday, March 7, 2009, to review resumes of seventeen applicants. The committee selected applicants to be interviewed as semifinalists, and the interviews were held on March 23, 24, 26, 2009.

The Screening and Interview Committee will submit their recommendations for finalists at the next scheduled School Committee Meeting on Tuesday, April 14, 2009, at 7:30 p.m. in the George M. Romm Little Theatre at Brockton High School according to the established protocol.

Finalists for the position will be invited to an interview session which will be open to the public.